In the grand scheme of diets, I will be the first to say that I am an anomaly, maybe even hypocrite. Why? because I kind of prefer a vegan/vegetarian diet. Truth be told, animal food products are… well… I’ll get to that later. I do eat meat. I love a good filet mignon. I love a chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese and topped with capers. I enjoy reuben sandwiches. I like my cans of tuna post-workout.
I eat meat. In fact, I have a long list of different meats I’ve tried and am rather proud of the fact that I have had such culinary adventures.
Anyone that says we’re not natural meat-eaters is likely to be a fool and ignorant of hominid evolution. Apes, specifically Chimps/Bonobos eat meat. While their diet tends to favour fruits and vegetables, by way of foraging, they do kill lizards and monkeys for meat. I leave out birds here, cause I’m not sure about tha
Despite our mouth being filled with almost generalized dentition, we still have vestigial canines (or eye teeth, if you prefer that archaic term). These teeth are meant for shredding meat. Molars on the other hand, are meant for masticating tougher substances like vegetable matter. It just so happens, they’re great for doing the same to meat.
Our digestion system, also generalized, is geared towards an omnivores diet, but not a vegetarian diet. We possess a (supposedly) vestigial organ called the appendix, which is largely responsible for digesting plant matter (or cellulose), from what I understand. The rest of the intestinal system however, is built for the omnivore lifestyle.
A nice little website that caught my attention is Vegan Kit, which provides a lot of good information.
Now, the reason why I consider myself a bit of a hypocrite is because I don’t look at the labels of my food very closely. I did however do so last night.
In an attempt to make split-pea soup, I decided to use margarine instead of whatever else is usually used in said soup. It’s supposed to be a ham hock, but that seems rather silly to me for my purpose of making such a soup, which is for its high protein.
You can imagine my surprise when I realized that my margarine contains MILK PRODUCTS.
I’m somewhat lactose intolerant (some milk products hurt like hell, some don’t). So, I was rather disappointed and kinda ticked when I saw on the ingredient list the word “MILK”.
Subsequently, I’ve discovered that a good deal of breads contain milk products as well.
So long morning toast!
Thinking back to the summer, when camping in Darien Lake, a friend had brought with her “Vegan Margarine” because her little one is allergic to a lot of random things. We all thought it was odd that a comestible oil product would need to be veganised. Now I know why.
Not that this is much of a rant, but this is all because I bothered to look at the side of my margarine tub.