…and a tumbleweed rolls by

Sadly, this blog has been neglected for the last two months. My last post was about my adventure to the CNE.

In the last two months, I have accomplished quite a bit for myself and yet, not a whole lot either. Life is very much a case of dualities and juxtapositions.

Near the end of September, I finished my internship with a small Social Media Startup called CDLING, which is a platform for connecting Founders, Mentors, Advisors and Investors working within the Startup Ecosystem. It was a very interesting experience to say the least and the work I did for CDLING really pushed me to learn stuff extremely quickly. Although, because of its position (as a fledgling startup in its own right) I encountered many situations that were frustrating at times for me. I suppose that’s a topic for another post, and quite possibly a really good one.

Nonetheless, when I was in that internship, I learned to hone my writing as well as learned the need to consistently hone my writing.

So, what have I been doing for the last two months? Aside from the killer flu that I had a few weeks ago, I’ve been taking it easy.

I had pushed myself extremely hard between January and September when I returned to school, to take Corporate Communications and Public Relations at Centennial College. The results I had achieved along the way were always good. Even though the reality of the program was such that I could’ve skated by, only earning an average of 70% on everything I did, I always aimed high and my efforts resulted in a high GPA.

“A Man’s Reach Should Exceed His Grasp” – Robert Browning

January was not only the beginning of my returning to school, but also returning to something that was a big influence on me during my teen years: Air Cadets. After the paperwork cleared, I became a Civilian Instructor (CI), volunteering my free time to the local Air Cadet Squadron – 330 Danforth Tech.

Interestingly enough, when I was a cadet myself, we would trade shoulder flashes (the badge with the squadron number and name) and one I had received was from Danforth Tech. Little did I imagine that I would one day become part of that squadron myself.

At first, I had been given some light-weight tasks, but as the months passed, I began to take on more responsibilities. As of September, I have been operating as an Administration Officer, which has presented me with a good amount of challenges. Despite my title being CI, I haven’t done much instructing – though, I’m sure that will change in time. I would definitely appreciate that experience further… albeit, with time to plan to teach a lesson or two. One thing I can’t say is that I haven’t learned anything during my time with the squadron.

The two biggest takeaways so far have been 1) Don’t make stuff up and 2) Patience is not a virtue, but a necessity.

No matter what, I walk away each night with a smile on my face knowing that I have done some good – and knowing that I have whittled-down the pile of work left for me.

“Karma is neither good nor bad. It is simple karma. Think of it as a scale and what you put in it measures your worth”

I think, not without a sense of irony I suppose, that by putting my time into such a good cause, despite it’s militaristic nature, I have tipped the karmic scales back into my favour. I have even thought of pursuing further opportunities within the system. Through the Cadet Instructor Cadre there is potential for me to acquire skills and learn more. It would be rather interesting to get my military driving license. Getting behind the wheel of a Deuce-and-a-half would be fun.

Leave a Reply

