Trooper

While I’m not a huge fan of Rock music, nor will I ever claim to be, one band stands alone in my mind.

The Greatest Canadian Band of all time.

Trooper Logo

Raising Hell since before I was born…

Trooper’s music – one song in particular – holds a special place in my heart. Unabashedly Canadian, Ra McGuire and the boys have made a name for themselves by producing music that is distinctly not Canadian in sound, but often is in content. Many bands have come and gone in the time that they’ve been making hits. Their longevity could be due to that underlying patriotic nature of theirs. I don’t know. I can’t say. I don’t write for Rolling Stone. I’m don’t write about rock music. I only write about what I like.

Fukeneh!

This image contains the closest resemblance
to swearing I’ll ever have in this blog.

Holding a special place in my heart is their hit “We’re here for a good time”. The reasons why, I care not to go into right now.

I’d have to say that my two other favourites are naturally “Boys in the Bright White Sports Car” and “Raise a Little Hell”.  While it is good, I don’t particularly have a love for “Thin White Line” and the reasons for that, are also something I rather not going into right now. (The reason is not connected to the reasons for “Good Time”.)

Anyhow, today’s Non-sequitur topic on the GREATEST BAND TO EVER COME FROM CANADA is because next weekend, Trooper plays the CNE Bandshell. As I’ve said, I’m not a big rock music fan. So, this is a bit significant for me. The number of concerts I’ve [intentionally] attended, I can literally count on one one hand. As a fan of electronic music, I don’t consider any event where I’ve heard that kind of music on very loud sound systems, as being concerts. DJ’s are not musicians – ergo, a DJ playing music at a large venue, is not a concert.

Anyhow… I fully intend to attend the CNE for Trooper. Given that I haven’t been to the CNE in like 10 years, this will be quite the personal event. 😉

I leave you now with one of the lyrics for one of the most amazing songs ever… “We’re here for a good time”

A very good friend of mine
Told me something the other day
I’d like to pass it in to you
Cause I believe what he said to be true
He said

We’re here for a good time
Not a long time (not a long time)
So have a good time
The sun can’t shine every day

And the sun is shinin’
In this rainy city
And the sun is shinin’
Oooooh, isn’t it a pity
And every year, has it’s share of tears
And every now and then it’s gotta rain

We’re here for a good time
Not a long time
So have a good time
The sun can’t shine every day

And the sun is shinin’
In this rainy city
And the sun is shinin’
Oooooh, isn’t it a pity
That every year, has it’s share of tears
Every now and then it’s gotta rain

We’re here for a good time
Not a long time
So have a good time
The sun can’t shine every day

I’d like to note that I will not be going to said concert in a Bright White Sports Car to Raise a Little Hell for Trooper. I’ll be taking the TTC. Besides, I drive more of a dull silver four-door car – and while it can really get me rollin’,  it’s definitely not stolen.

2003 Elantra

This is not my car. I have better wheels, but more rust… 😦

Concert Listing: http://www.theex.com/concerts-events/concerts/#Trooper

Leave a Reply

