I wish I saw this yesterday…

PR Daily posted an article yesterday regarding skills PR Pros will need by 2020.

I wish I saw that article last night before I posted my last entry, because it contains a few points that I touched on. Why? Because points 2, 6 and 8 were skills I thought PR pros should have now. In retrospect, I would like to say that a toned-down expectation should be set for PR people. There isn’t an immediate need for all those skills, but at least a thorough understanding would be good.

Point 3, as discussed in the PR Daily is similar in vein to one of my points as well. With mobile devices quickly becoming the main conduits through which we interact with each other, there will be an ever-increasing need for people who know the ins and outs of mobile platforms.

At the same time, it would be nice if a few programs for PR people could be created for use on mobile platforms – like QR code creators that allow easy uploads and transfer of the QR code. Of course, QR codes are only an example here. Who really uses them?

Sadly, I don’t see those that use iPhones being able fully tap into the potential that mobile devices have to offer PR pros. Why? iPhone lacks the screen size and external input (i.e. peripheral keyboard). Androids with their HUGE screens, offer input abilities that the iPhone4S currently lacks and the iPhone5 is likely to fall short with.

Don’t get me wrong… I love my iPhone. I just wished the screen was a bit bigger on it.

Leave a Reply

