Minus Green

Some time ago, I noticed an interesting trend on Facebook. I’m not entirely sure how to explain it, but the trend is the trend to trend a certain website and its content. If you understood that last sentence, you’re already a step ahead of me. Some time ago, I noticed an interesting trend on Facebook. I’m not entirely sure how to explain it, but the trend is the trend to trend a certain website and its content. If you understood that last sentence, you’re already a step ahead of me.

This weeks trending website is wimp.com, which I will admit, is a bit of a fresh trend. Wimp.com tends to eschew the parameters of other websites and provides a wide range of material: from videos of busty girls jumping up and down, to pop culture satire and inevitably to the geeky.

The latter concerns me here and the reason being is, as a (hobbyist) photographer, I have studied the varying little degrees of which things effect and affect a photo. One of which is light and the quality of it. The ideal for a photographer is to have a lot of light – either natural or artificial. Those that purposefully go out of their way to use a boatload of flashes, liken themselves as ‘strobists.’ Regardless of the source, the result is typically the same: everything is lit up with pure light.

 

Light is not pure. In fact, it’s far from it. Depending on the time of day, you can have light ranging from 3100K to 10000K. [The K standing in for Kelvin, not thousands.] Typical sunlight is 5500K, which is slightly bluish. Cameras offer compensation for the range of light being worked with and the result of not compensating is where you get that weird orange or blue tinge happening in pictures.
Therefore, I get colour theory. Strangely enough, this is rather impressive as I am… surprise, surprise, COLOUR-BLIND! I don’t care to explain this right now.

 

What I care to explain is… I had never thought about how I never get a pink tinge in my shots. For that matter, I never get green either (or I never notice it). This video explains why I never get pink (or green) tinge.

http://www.wimp.com/pinklight/

With this knowledge, I now also understand why Green Lantern (the character, not the movie) is so awesome. 

Leave a Reply

